Atterberg: Horn Concerto in A Minor, Op. 28

SKU: EB5408

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. This item is digital and will be delivered via email.

  • Composer: Kurt Atterberg
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Horn
  • Originally for: Horn, Orchestra
  • Work: Horn Concerto in A Minor, Op. 28
  • ISMN: 9790004164051
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 40


The Horn Concerto by the now unjustly forgotten Swedish composer Kurt Atterberg was frequently performed in the years following its premiere, especially in Sweden. The soloist of the premiere, Axel Malm, for whom Atterberg had written the virtuoso solo part, participated in many of these concerts. Among other things, the soloist is required to play bravura passages in the high register. Stylistically, the work is a melting pot of Nordic mysticism, jazz touches and a traditional concerto form, with Atterberg always remaining unmistakable behind all stylistic excursions. The concerto opens with a sonata movement in which horn idiomaticism comes to the fore, for example, with characteristic horn signals. This is followed by an adagio in three-part song form with long melodies. The finale is a dance-like rondo.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.