Brahms: 6 Quartets, Op. 112

SKU: ChB16000-02

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Editor: Bernd Wiechert
  • Instrumentation: Piano, SATB Solos
  • Work: 6 Quartets, Op. 112
  • Work Language: German
  • ISMN: 9790004413272
  • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
  • Pages: 48
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


During his summer vacation in 1891 Brahms composed six vocal quartets which would appear in print later that autumn. This set, to become Brahms's opus 112, clearly falls into two groups. The first two in the melancholic tone of the poems Sehnsucht (Longing) and Nächtens (At Night) by Franz Kugler come upon four Zigeunerlieder (Gypsy Lieder) bursting with vitality and power. The first public performances of the work were very positively received. Even while Brahms was still alive, the work was performed not only by the four solo voices originally intended, but also by choruses. Breitkopf & Härtel's new practical edition of the Quartette follows the music text of the critical edition of the Johannes Brahms Complete Edition.

  1. Sehnsucht 'Es rinnen die Wasser' | (Franz Kugler)
  2. Naechtens 'Naechtens wachen' | (Franz Kugler)

  3. 3.1 Himmel strahlt so helle and klar | (Hugo Conrat - nach ungarischen Volksliedern)

  4. 3.2 Rote Rosenknospen | (Hugo Conrat - nach ungarischen Volksliedern)
  5. 3.3 Brennnessel steht an Weges Rand | (Hugo Conrat - nach ungarischen Volksliedern)
  6. 3.4 Liebe Schwalbe | (Hugo Conrat - nach ungarischen Volksliedern)

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.