Brahms: Academic Festival Overture in C Minor, Op. 80 (arr. for string quartet)

SKU: MR32069

Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Editor: Christian Beyer
  • Format: Score & Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation (this edition): String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Originally for: Orchestra
  • Work: Academic Festival Overture in C Minor, Op. 80
  • ISMN: 9790004489499
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 44


Johannes Brahms wrote the Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80 in Bad Ischl in the summer of 1880 as a token of thanks for the honorary doctorate that had been bestowed upon him the previous year by the University of Breslau. in keeping with the event, the work contains various folkloric and student songs which Brahms borrowed from the well-known "Commers-Buch for den deutschen Studenten", a book containing material for the annual students' social gatherings. The overture's first performance was held in Breslau on 4 January 1881 under the direction of the composer. The present arrangement for string quartet by Christian Beyer compliments the already available overtures by Mozart, which Beyer also arranged for this instrumentation.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.