Brahms: String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 51, No. 2

SKU: EB6028

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 51
  • ISMN: 9790004165676
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 52
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In his two String Quartets, Op. 51, Johannes Brahms deliberately chose to deal with the demands of this classical genre. An echo of Beethoven's Razumovsky Quartets (Op. 59) is particularly unmistakable.

Moreover, in the formal treatment of the two works, Brahms aimed to cyclically round off the overall form through motivic references to the respective main theme. After various preliminary phases in the 1860s, Brahms wrote the two Quartets, Op. 51 in Tutzing on Lake Starnberg in the summer of 1873. The second work presented here was given its first public performance at the Berliner Singakademie on 18 October 1873. The first violin part was played by Brahms' violinist friend Joseph Joachim.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.