Devienne: Quartet in F Major, Op. 73, No. 2

SKU: MR1986

Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks. This item is digital and will be delivered via email.

  • Composer: François Devienne
  • Editor: Himie Voxman
  • Instrumentation: Cello, Violin, Viola, Bassoon
  • Work: No. 2 in F Major from 3 Quartets, Op. 73
  • ISMN: 9790004485903
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 60


The "Trois Quatuors Pour Basson, Violon, Alto et Basse, Op. 73", published by Erard (Paris) in 1798, were dedicated to Devienne's friend, Garnier of Lyon. This may have been François Joseph Garnier (1755-1825), a noted French oboist and flautist, also a composer of solo and wind chamber music and a widely-used method for oboe.

These quartets are somewhat superior to most of those contemporaneous works written for a wind instrument and strings. Although the bassoon part is a brilliant one, each of the string voices enjoys a high degree of independence.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.