E. Franck: String Sextets, Opp. 41 & 50

SKU: PB33002-07

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. This item is digital and will be delivered via email.

  • Composer: Eduard Franck
  • Instrumentation: String Sextet (2 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos)
  • ISMN: 9790004216927
  • Size: 6.5 x 8.9 inches
  • Pages: 136
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Eduard Franck's two string sextets, Op. 41 in E-flat Major, published in 1882/84, and, Op. 50, in D Major, completed in December 1884 but published posthumously in 1894, fall mysteriously outside of their era. They are a significant addition to the rather concise repertoire for string sextet, joining the two works in this genre by Johannes Brahms.

Eduard Franck was one of the very few private students of Felix, who was himself a close friend of the Franck family, so that Eduard was firmly rooted in the Mendelssohn tradition. But what is particularly exciting in the sextets, is how he consistently further developed Mendelssohn's immanent genre-defining tendencies, thus founding a conservative alternative to the Schumann-Brahms course.


  • String Sextet No. 1 in E-flat Major, Op. 41
  • String Sextet No. 2 in D Major, Op. 50

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.