Gesualdo: Madrigals - Book 4 (Op. 5)

SKU: DV4774-01

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Carlo Gesualdo
  • Editors: Glenn E Watkins, Wilhelm Weismann
  • Instrumentation: SATB Choir
  • Work Language: Italian
  • ISMN: 9790200440270
  • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
  • Pages: 80
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Carlo Gesualdo's choral works were unique for the time around 1600, and it takes only a few measures to identify their distinct style. No other composer advanced the interpretation of the text in such a varied manner as Gesualdo, and none wrote harmonies that are so daring and of such incomparable freedom in all of music history. Beyond his musical contributions, Gesualdo's life itself reads like an adventure novel – another singular feature among composers of that era.

  1. Arde il mio cor, ed è si dolce il foco
  2. A voi, entre il mio core
  3. Che fai meco, mio cor
  4. Cor mio, deh, non piangete (Guarini)
  5. Ecco, morirò dunque
  6. Il sol, qualor più splende (six voices)
  7. Io tacerò, ma nel silenzio mio
  8. Luci serene e chiare (Ridolfo Arlotti)
  9. Mentre gira costei
  10. Moro, e mentre sospiro
  11. Or, che in gioia credea
  12. Questa crudele e pia
  13. Se chiudete nel core
  14. Sparge la morte al mio Signor nel viso
  15. Talor sano desio

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.