Haydn: Oboe Concerto in C Major, Hob. VIIg:C1

SKU: EB5349

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. This item is digital and will be delivered via email.

  • Composer: Joseph Haydn
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Oboe
  • Originally for: Oboe, Orchestra
  • Work: Oboe Concerto in C Major, Hob. VIIg:C1
  • ISMN: 9790004163979
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 32


Surely everyone is familiar with the Oboe Concerto in C Major , Hob. VIIg:C1. It occupies a special place in the oboe literature, indeed in the entire woodwind literature of the 18th century. Its scope and its wealth of contrasting moods and melodies are exceptional and unparalleled in classical music.

The authorship of the Oboe Concerto remains unclear to this day. None of the surviving manuscripts contains an author's name. Only in a Dresden manuscript is there a reference to Haydn, whose name appears above several other crossed-out or scratched-out names. Conjectures range from Ignaz Malzat (MGG/Haynes catalog) to Karl Stamitz to prominent representatives such as Beethoven and Mozart.

The origin of the Oboe Concerto is also obscure. It probably dates from around 1800, and no original cadenza has survived. But thanks to the famous composer and former oboist of the Vienna Philharmonic, Alexander Wunderer, who arranged the work, prepared a piano reduction and provided a virtuoso solo cadenza, Hob. VIIg:C1 has become the classic "Haydn Concerto" of the oboe repertoire.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.