In the Spirit of Bach: 6 Works for Solo Violin

SKU: EB9373

Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks. This item is digital and will be delivered via email.

  • Composers: Adolf Busch, Ferdinand David, Emil Bohnke, Walter Lessing, Veit Erdmann-Abele, Anton Kuerti
  • Instrumentation: Violin
  • ISMN: 9790004188439
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition

Listen on Soundcloud


Exactly 300 years after Bach completed his unique cosmos of the Sei Solo á Violino senza Basso accompagnato , Kolja Lessing is presenting a collection, rich in discovery, of also 6 solo violin works inspired by Bach. The anthology In the Spirit of Bach opens with the Suite in G Minor, Op. 43 by Ferdinand David – an epochal contribution to the Bach renaissance in the immediate vicinity of Felix and Robert Schumann. The other 5 works are all in first editions documenting aspects of Bach's reception from late Romanticism, as reflected in Adolf Busch's 1908 Sonata in D Major , through Classical Modernism, up to the present. in their individual styles and formal design, they are an eloquent testimony to the unbroken fascination that Bach's Sei Solo also exert on various composers in the 20th and 21st centuries. A high-caliber addition to the solo violin repertoire.


  • F. David: Suite, Op. 43
  • Busch: Sonata in D Major
  • Bohnke: Chiacona
  • Lessing: Sonata
  • Erdmann-Abele: Toccata-Chaconne
  • Kuerti: Sonata

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.