Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night's Dream, MWV M 13, Op. 61 (Version for Piano)


Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Editor: Christian Martin Schmidt
  • Arranger: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Format: Full Score
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano, Piano 4-Hands
  • Originally for: Orchestra, SSAA Choir
  • Work: A Midsummer Night's Dream (Incidental Music), MWV M 13, Op. 61
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • ISMN: 9790004802335
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 280
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In addition to the score of A Midsummer Night's Dream, Mendelssohn also wrote piano versions (for 2 and 4 hands) and had most of them printed. in 1832, the composer repeatedly urged Breitkopf to publish the Overture in the piano-duet version as soon as possible. Afterwards, the composer expressed his total satisfaction: "... the getup is excellent and I am doubly pleased to see the piece appear in such a form, since it is one of my favorite pieces."

The supplementary volume (V/8a, SON 407) contains all Piano Arrangements. The presentation conforms to modern-day standards for complete editions, which depict works for piano four-hands in score form. Moreover, this is the way Mendelssohn had composed it ("primo and secondo one above the other"), which allows us to grasp the structure of the work more clearly.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.