Mendelssohn: Largo & Allegro in D Minor MWV O 1

SKU: MR2270

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Format: Score & Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: Piano, String Quintet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)
  • Work: Recitative for Piano & Strings in G Minor, MWV O 1
  • ISMN: 9790004488201
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 22


In 1820, with all the youthful spirit of his eleven years, Felix composed a Largo and Allegro for piano solo. He then added a string accompaniment, from which it does not clearly emerge whether he conceived it for a chamber ensemble or an orchestra. He ultimately forgot the little work, most likely before it was ever performed in public, and turned to new, larger projects. The performance at the University of Karlsruhe on 17 November 2000 was thus actually the world premiere. The Karlsruhe concert series headed by Joachim Draheim has already seen the first performances of a number of romantic rarities in the past. in his meticulously prepared first edition, Draheim gives musicians four different possibilities of performing Mendelssohn's Largo and Allegro : 1) piano solo 2) piano and string quartet 3) piano and string quintet (with double bass) 4) piano and string orchestra (with double bass)

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.