Mendelssohn: Sacred Vocal Works with Orchestra


Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Editor: Clemens Harasim
  • Instrumentation: Voice, SATB Choir, Soprano, Orchestra, Baritone, Double Choir (SATB + SATB), String Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • ISMN: 9790004803158
  • Size: 9.8 x 12.6 inches
  • Pages: 392
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Nine variegated Sacred Vocal Works with Orchestra by Mendelssohn have been compiled in this volume. They stem not only from various creative phases of the composer, but also in view of their vocal settings show up marked differences and thus reflect the variety of Mendelssohns creative oeuvre. One shared aspect is that all nine works remained unprinted during the composers lifetime. Only the Lauda Sion achieved celebrity; it was published with the posthumously attributed opus number 73 and took its place next to other choral works by Mendelssohn already in the 19th century. Now published within the Mendelssohn Complete Edition, it boasts a text-critically revised score available in many cases for the first time, and from which impulses for musical practice are sure to arise.


  • Kyrie in D Minor, MWV A 3
  • Tu es Petrus, MWV A 4, Op. posth. 111
  • Herr Gott, dich loben wir, MWV A 20
  • Salve Regina in E-flat Major, MWV C 2
  • Ave maris stella, MWV C 3
  • The Lord God Almighty, MWV C 4
  • Lauda Sion, MWV A 24, Op. 73
  • Vom Himmel hoch (Cantata based on Luther's Christmas chorale), MWV A 22
  • Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr, MWV A 21

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.