Mendelssohn: String Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20

SKU: KM2297

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Editor: Ralf Wehner
  • Instrumentation: String Octet (4 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos)
  • Work: String Octet, MWV R 20, Op. 20
  • ISMN: 9790004502853
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 120
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The work crosses the boundaries from chamber music to orchestral ensemble not only in the form of the famous Scherzo which Mendelssohn expanded through additional wind parts and inserted into the London version of the First Symphony, Op. 11. A composer's note in the printed edition of the parts reads: "This Octet must be played in all parts in the style of a symphony; the Pianos and Fortés must be executed with great precision and shaped more distinctly and individually than is otherwise customary in pieces of this genre."

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.