Mendelssohn: String Quintets, MWV R 21 & 33

SKU: EB8998

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. This item is digital and will be delivered via email. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Instrumentation: String Quintet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola I, Viola II, Cello)
  • ISMN: 9790004187357
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 232
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Felix devoted to the string-quintet genre only two works sharing quite a few formal and musical similarities, though they were composed almost two decades apart.

In view of Mendelssohn's strong revising obsession, the quintets pose some challenges to the editor: In the A-Major quintet, after he replaced an inner movement and switched the order of the movements from the early version, a somewhat recognizable "final version" was published in 1833; the B-flat-Major quintet underwent several further rounds of revision after its provisional conclusion in 1845, presumably extending into the year of the composer's death (1847). The set of parts includes beside the second string quintet in B-flat Major both the complete early version as well as the complete published version of the first quintet in A Major, so that both versions can be played as independent works. Appearing alongside the parts edition to facilitate further engagement with the music text is also a study score.


  • String Quintet in A Major, MWV R 21, Op. 18
  • String Quintet in B-flat Major, MWV R 33, Op. 87

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.