Mendelssohn: Symphony in A Major, MWV N 16, Op. 90 - "Italian" (Version of 1833)


Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Editor: Thomas Schmidt-Beste
  • Format: Full Score
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • Work: Symphony No. 4 in A Major ("Italian"), MWV N 16, Op. 90
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • ISMN: 9790004802861
  • Size: 9.8 x 12.6 inches
  • Pages: 192
  • Urtext / Critical Edition

Listen on Soundcloud


Though Mendelssohn planned to revise his Italian Symphony, he came to a halt after three-quarters of the piece following the successful London world premiere in 1833. The following year, he newly composed only movements 2 to 4, but there was no further performance of the work, let alone a publication. The London version was thus printed posthumously in 1851 and paved the way for the works international breakthrough. It is thus perfectly plausible to continue to consider this early version of 1833 as the valid form of the work, since it alone can claim to have been entirely conceived, conducted, and thus introduced to the public by the composer.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.