Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, MWV N 13, Op. 11


Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Editor: Ralf Wehner
  • Format: Full Score
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • Work: Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, MWV N 13, Op. 11
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • ISMN: 9790004802250
  • Size: 9.8 x 12.6 inches
  • Pages: 248
  • Urtext / Critical Edition

Listen on Soundcloud


Immediately after completing his 12 string symphonies (1821-1823), the 15-year-old Felix composed a Sinfonia XIII in C Minor in March 1824. Just as the composer was about to conduct the work himself in London in 1829, he suddenly substituted the Minuet with the newly orchestrated Scherzo movement from his Octet Op. 20. Another five years elapsed before the work was first published, at which time it was given the opus number 11. in the meantime, however, Mendelssohn had changed his mind again: he restored the Minuet, which he had temporarily scorned, to its original place in 1834. As part of the Mendelssohn Complete Edition, the Scherzo from Op. 20, as orchestrated for the London version, is being published as an appendix to the First Symphony. The performance material of the traditional version is available on sale in its entirety, the London version is available on hire.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.