Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, MWV N 13, Op. 11 (Version for Piano 4-hands)


Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Editor: Ralph Wehner
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano 4-Hands
  • Originally for: Orchestra
  • Work: Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, MWV N 13, Op. 11
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • ISMN: 9790004802397
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 232
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In the 19th century it was perfectly customary to arrange symphonies for chamber settings, which gave them a greater chance of being performed. Felix created two versions of his in C Minor Symphony, Op. 11, both of which are now available: the first is the version heard in London in 1829 (with the Scherzo from the Octet, Op. 20) in a dazzling chamber version for piano duet with violin and cello ad libitum; the second is the well-known piano version (for four hands) written in 1824 and published ten years later (with Minuet), which is closer in character to a piano reduction.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.