Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 5 in D Minor "Reformation", MWV N 15, Op. 107


Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
  • Editor: Thomas Schmidt-Beste
  • Format: Full Score
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • Work: Symphony No. 5 in D Minor ("Reformation Symphony"), MWV N 15, Op. 107
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • ISMN: 9790004803516
  • Size: 9.8 x 12.6 inches
  • Pages: 252
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The "Reformation Symphony," misleadingly numbered posthumously as "5" by its publishers, was Mendelssohn's first confrontation with the large symphonic form in Beethoven's wake. Linking it conceptually with the 300th anniversary of the "Augsburg Confession" in 1830 seems to have first occurred late in the progress of its composition, yet the premiere did not take place until 1832 and ultimately even enabled the composer to distance himself completely from his work and its concept. Thanks to access to a new source [or, "… new access to sources…" or "…new access to a source…"?], this edition can now finally refute the legend that a separate original or early version of the symphony once existed.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.