Mozart: Children's Symphony in C Major (arr. for piano)

SKU: EB8514

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. This item is digital and will be delivered via email.

  • Composer: Leopold Mozart
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction
  • Originally for: Orchestra
  • Work: Children's Symphony
  • ISMN: 9790004178065
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 8


The piano versions of the "Children's Symphony" have been part of Breitkopf's orchestral materials for over a hundred years now. They are not merely piano parts, however, but full-blooded reductions for piano two hands or four-hands.

The work, originally titled Berchtolsgader-Musik, goes back to the Cassatio ex G by Leopold Mozart, whose movements 3, 4 and 7 are identical to the Kinder-Symphonie [Children's Symphony]. for a long time, the authorship of the work was uncertain. It was attributed to Joseph Haydn and his brother Michael, at times also to Edmund Angerer and Leopold Mozart's pupil Johann Rainprechter. The work probably first received the designation "Kinder-Symphonie" in 1813 through an edition by the music publisher Hofmeister.

In the Children's Symphony, a cuckoo, a quail and other unusual instruments are used in addition to the usual orchestral scoring. These belong to the Berchtesgaden instruments: flutes, whistles and rattles carved from wood, manufactured in the Berchtesgaden region and widely used as children's toys throughout the country. Today, these instruments can also be replaced by flutes, whistles as well as ratchets, rattles or bell trees.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.