Mozart: Clarinet Concerto in A Major, K. 622

SKU: EB8523

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Clarinet
  • Originally for: Clarinet, Orchestra
  • Work: Clarinet Concerto in A Major, K. 622
  • ISMN: 9790004178157
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 56


Thanks to a detailed sketch, we know that Mozart originally wrote his famous Clarinet Concerto, K. 622 for basset horn in G or A. It was only in the early editions dating from the 19th century that this work - considered as the Clarinet Concerto par excellence - became unproblematic to play an the A clarinet. However, source studies have revealed that this was made possible only at the price of considerable "un-Mozartian" alterations of the solo Part. Sabine Meyer, Wolfgang Meyer and Reiner Wehle, the members of the Trio di Clarone, haue eliminated some of these modifications in their new edition, restoring Mozart's original intentions. However, their critical revision in no way impedes the performability of the A-Major Concerto.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.