Organ Trios after J.S. Bach

SKU: EB8779

Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Instrumentation: Organ
  • ISMN: 9790004182505
  • Size: 12.0 x 9.1 inches
  • Pages: 32


J. S. Bach supplied the sources: three movements from the Sonata for viola da gamba and harpsichord BWV 1027 and the closing movement of the Sonata BWV 1029, as well as the three-part Invention (Sinfonia) in D Minor BWV 790. Then it was the turn of pupils and friends who were in large part responsible for creating five organ trios out of the master's original material. Bach's friend Johann Peter Kellner is presumed to have arranged at least two of these trios.

The "Organ Trios After J. S. Bach" not only presents four trios for the first time in print, but also contains an "encore:" the Andante from BWV 1027 that was missing in the contemporary transmission. Renowned organist Gerhard Weinberger offers his own organ trio arrangement of this piece in the appendix. The four-movement Sonata BWV 1027 is thus now also accessible to organists in its entirety.

nach J.S.Bach | Trio in g BWV (Anh. II) 545b/2 (1029/3) nach J.S.Bach | Trio in h after BWV 790 nach J.S.Bach | Trio in e after BWV 1027/3 nach J.S.Bach | Trio in G BWV (Anh. II) 1027/ l a nach J.S.Bach | Trio in G BWV (Anh. II) 1027/2a nach J.S.Bach | Trio in G BWV (Anh. II) 1027/4a

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.