Raff: Cello Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 193

SKU: EB9426

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Joachim Raff
  • Editors: Jonas Kreienbühl, Andrea Wiesli
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Cello, Piano Reduction
  • Originally for: Cello, Orchestra
  • Work: Cello Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 193
  • ISMN: 9790004189030
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 88
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Joachim Raff's celebrated first cello concerto is only gradually being rediscovered today. This is astounding, taking into account both the quality of the composition as well as its enthusiastic reception in the past. All renowned cellists of the time performed the work, but the history of, Op. 193 is still more closely linked to Friedrich Grützmacher, its commissioner, co-editor, and soloist in its world premiere, than to any other musician.

Grützmachers wish for a concerto to "free us poor cellists from our situation that is becoming truly unbearable and driving us to the utmost discontent" was certainly fulfilled by Raff.

The extensive preface of this first Urtext-Edition documents the close collaboration between composer and interpreter, as well as performance practice of the time. The corresponding piano reduction includes not only an Urtext-solo part, but also a part with the markings by the Zurich cellist Jonas Kreienbühl.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.