Rautavaara: Flute Concerto - "Dances with the Winds"

SKU: EB8912

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. This item is digital and will be delivered via email. Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Composer: Einojuhani Rautavaara
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Flute
  • Originally for: Flute, Orchestra
  • Work: Flute Concerto ("Dances with the Winds"), Op. 69
  • ISMN: 9790004185780
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 40


World première: Stockholm, May 4, 1974

"The flute concerto ‘Dances with the Winds' was composed in 1974 for the Swedish flutist Gunilla von Bohr, a specialist in all members of the flute family. The ordinary flute thus alternates with a bass flute at the beginning and end of the four-movement concerto, the second movement is assigned to the shrill piccolo and the third to the sensuous alto flute. The last movement is a summary of all the musical events in the concerto. At the end the bass flute soars to the top of its register, the note D acting as the pivot to many of the symmetries in the work, against a resigned in B-flat Minor chord on the orchestra." (Einojuhani Rautavaara)

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.