Schumann: Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129 (Version for Violin)

SKU: EB8329

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Robert Schumann
  • Arranger: Robert Schumann
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
  • Originally for: Cello, Orchestra
  • Work: Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129
  • ISMN: 9790004176375
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 56


Robert Schumann's Cello Concerto Op. 129 can be regarded as the first great concerto for this instrument's repertoire. It is thus somewhat surprising that this work had an extremely problematic reception history at the outset. Schumann wrote the score in 1850, during his Düsseldorf years, but there was neither a concrete occasion nor a soloist for a world premiere. After its publication, more years elapsed before the world premiere. It was only towards the end of the 19th century that Schumann's Cello Concerto finally made its breakthrough as a repertoire piece. The Urtext edition is based on the original print of the parts and the piano reduction, which had still been supervised by Schumann. in addition, the autograph of the score was consulted for purposes of comparison. The internationally renowned soloist Heinrich Schiff took part in the preparation of the edition for cello and piano. His experiences have been incorporated into his arrangement of the solo part. With his comments, Schiff also provides valuable tips on the interpretation of the work.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.