Sibelius: Symphony No. 4 in A Minor, Op. 63

SKU: PB5694

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Jean Sibelius
  • Editor: Tuija Wicklund
  • Format: Full Score
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • Work: Symphony No. 4 in A Minor, Op. 63
  • ISMN: 9790004216316
  • Size: 9.8 x 12.6 inches
  • Pages: 96
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In the fall of 1909 Sibelius wrote in his diary: "At Koli! One of the greatest impressions in my life. Plans [for] ‘La Montagne'!" These plans proved to be for the Fourth Symphony. The composition process was not an easy one and in the end – according to his diary – Sibelius was "struggling with God!" and only just able to finish the work in time for the premiere in spring 1911: "My new symphony is a total protest against present-day compositions. Nothing – absolutely nothing of the circus [in it]." This extraordinary work was at first found difficult to understand although its technical brilliance was recognized. The appreciation of the Fourth has, however, grown in the course of years.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.