Sibelius: Valse triste, Op. 44, No. 1 (arr. for piano, 4-hands)

SKU: EB2273

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Jean Sibelius
  • Arranger: Otto Taubmann
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano 4-Hands
  • Originally for: Orchestra
  • Work: Valse triste, Op. 44, No. 1
  • ISMN: 9790004180969
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 12

Listen on Soundcloud


The Valse triste is part of the incidental music tin several movements of Kuolem a, Op. 44, which Sibelius composed in 1903. Kuolema has remained almost unknown until today, although Valse triste is one of the most frequently played pieces by the Finnish composer. The original publisher Breitkopf & Härtel provided in a Major impulse to its popularity growth, for example by publishing the versions for piano (EB 2224) or string orchestra (MM 2355836), emanating from Sibelius himself . Incidentally, the arrangements by Friedrich Hermann (for violin / viola / cello / flute and piano) and by Otto Taubmann (for piano duet) are authentic. They were commissioned by the publisher after Sibelius gave his agreement. in fact, the composer, who was not always mildly disposed towards such undertakings, even went over them, as can be seen in the composers copies.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.