Strauss: Horn Concerto No. 1 in E-flat Major, Op. 11

SKU: HN1253

Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day. In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Richard Strauss
  • Editor: Peter Damm
  • Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Horn
  • Originally for: Horn, Orchestra
  • Work: Horn Concerto No. 1 in E-flat Major, TrV 117, Op. 11
  • ISMN: 9790201812533
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 42
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


With his first horn concerto, the merely eighteen-year-old Richard Strauss succeeded in producing a captivating masterstroke. To this day, the concerto is beloved throughout the world (not only) by horn players, and together with Mozart's masterworks numbers among the essential pieces in the instrument's repertoire.

Peter Damm, former principal horn for the Staatskapelle Dresden and world-class soloist, has not only performed the concerto publicly over 170 times himself, but has also presented pivotal research findings and publications on its genesis. Prepared after reviewing all surviving sources, the Urtext edition he has edited may thus been regarded as the edition of reference. for use in lessons and for performances, the especially playable piano reduction by Johannes Umbreit is a great help.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.