Studies for Playing Contemporary Music - Oboe

SKU: BG782

Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.

  • Editor: Heinz Holliger
  • Instrumentation: Oboe
  • ISMN: 9790004140123
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 80


"These contributions from twelve different composers offer a survey of the most important technical and musical problems as well as of the new methods of notation, which confront the soloists, students and orchestral musicians of today.

I have endeavoured to provide each study with advice concerning how to best approach these new and manifold problems and how to acquire the basics of the new techniques with the help of simple preparatory exercises. My remarks should also stimulate students to work out their own preparatory exercises, specially conceived for their particular difficulties.

After studying these this volume of Etudes, perhaps some students might even feel inspired to pursue further research in the suggested directions, and thereby perhaps discover completely new sound phenomena. for twelve studies can only give a short, incomplete survey of a process in constant evolution, whose end is not yet in sight."

(Heinz Holliger)

Contains excerpts from:

  • Amy, Gilbert | Répons
  • Becker, Günther | Hz
  • Berio, Luciano | Study to Sequenza VII
  • Denissow, Edison | Solo
  • Donatoni, Franco | Study
  • Engelmann, Hans Ulrich | Mobili
  • Globokar, Vinko | Breathing Study
  • Holliger, Heinz | Chordal Study
  • Lehmann, Hans Ulrich | Cadence
  • Shinohara, Makoto | Réflexion
  • Wildberger, Jacques | Pour les neuf doigts
  • Wyttenbach, Jürg | "...und läuft and läuft..."

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.