Vivaldi: Oboe Sonata in C Minor, RV 53

SKU: EB8609

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi
  • Editor: Martin Nitz
  • Instrumentation: Basso continuo, Oboe
  • Work: Oboe Sonata in C Minor, RV 53
  • ISMN: 9790004179956
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 28


It is generally quite easy to adapt sonatas for Baroque oboe (and continuo) to the soprano recorder since both instruments have an identical range. Yet considering the great popularity of the previously published works, it is strange that Antonio Vivaldi's only sonata for this instrument has received little attention to date.

This edition is based on a manuscript preserved in the Sächsische Landesbibliothek Dresden. The preparation of the edition entailed the adjustment of the accidentals to present-day practice, and the realization of the (unfigured) thoroughbass part. No. slurs were added to those already contained in the manuscript so as to allow the performer to find his own solutions. Otherwise the virtually error-free manuscript was reproduced without change.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Quickly Will You Ship?

Most items are in stock and ship immediately. However, please look below the "Add to Cart" button for more specific information.

How Much is Shipping?

Our standard shipping is $4.99 and shipped by USPS First Class Mail. We also offer a 2-day option for $13.99 with FedEx/UPS.